In the Girls' Bathroom: Where shizz gets real. See More...

If You Like It Then You Shoulda Put Ink On It

A round-up of YA literary tattoos for swimfans who wear their love on their sleeves (and backs, legs, necks.... )!

If You Like It Then You Shoulda Put Ink On It

We love YA lit around here.* You could say we live, breathe, eat and (literally) sleep YA lit. So how can we show the world a book's significance or impact it had on us? Or with so many other fans out there, how does one show that they're a bit more of a superfan than some other readers? Well, how about by putting something on your body that will be there for the rest of your life??!?

I kid, I kid! I'm a super square and have no tattoos (and it's unlikely that I ever will.) So I am especially fascinated by the many people who can make a lifetime commitment between art and their body. Literary tattoos are nothing new and there are several dedicated websites for them. Most are either illustrations (including cover images) or script of favorite quotes. So I've scrounged around on the internet for you all and found the best and the worst YA lit tattoos - where the good are fan-freaking-tastic and the bad are tragic and the average and just plain all right.

* Biggest no doi statement of the week.

With millions of copies sold and several blockbuster films, Harry Potter and Twilight are the juggernauts of the YA lit world. So it's no surprise that you can find hundreds of Twi-toos (yes, I just made that up) and Harry Pottats (that one was even worse.)

The Twilight ones tend to fighten me...

[source] [source]

...but the Harry Potter ones tend to delight me (but yes, I am biased)

[source] [source] [source]

But other books hold their own in the lit tattoo world, especially classics. Love it or hate it, Catcher In The Rye has inspired many-a-tattoo.

[source] [source]

To Kill a Mockingbird represents as well.

 

[source]

Many choose modern classics they loved growing up, such as The Outsiders or (if they're younger) The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

[source] [source]

How lovely is this quote from John Green's Looking For Alaska? And Sarah Dessen shows she's got a passionate fan base.

[source] [source]

I'm sure Stargirl would approve.

[source]

A Book Thief tattoo would probably make me cry everytime I looked at it, so this person is obviously braver than I am.

[source]

And my personal favorite of the bunch... The Hunger Games mockingjay tattoo!

[source]

 

That's all I've got for now, but ATTENTION FYA READERS! I'd love to show off your YA lit tattoos if you've got them. Please email foreveryoungadult@gmail.com with a photo, the name of the YA book and a brief 1-5 sentence blurb about why you got it/what it means to you/whatever etc. If we get enough responses, we'll feature them in a future post!

Megan Crane's photo About the Author: Megan is an unabashed fangirl who is often in a state of panic about her inability to watch, read and play all the things.